top of page

Decoding Love Languages: A Christian Dating Guide

Decoding the five love languages in Christian dating

Have you heard of the five love languages? Love languages are the ways we give and receive love best. It's like everyone has their own personal recipe for feeling loved – it could be words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, or physical touch. Knowing someone’s love language can enhance your communication and connection while dating, so let’s dive in.

1. Words of Affirmation

  • What It Means: This love language focuses on verbal expressions of love and appreciation. People with this love language feel loved when they receive compliments, words of encouragement, or verbal acknowledgment of their achievements.

  • How to Show Love to Someone with This Love Language: Compliment them regularly, tell them what you love or appreciate about them (get specific!), and always express your feelings verbally.

2. Acts of Service

  • What It Means: For people with this love language, actions speak louder than words. They feel loved when someone does something for them, like helping with chores or running errands.

  • How to Show Love to Someone with This Love Language: Offering to help with tasks they find burdensome, surprising them by doing something they didn't expect, or simply asking, "How can I help you today?" can go a long way. 

3. Receiving Gifts

  • What It Means: People with this love language value thoughtfulness and effort behind gifts. The gift doesn't have to be expensive; it's the sentiment behind it that counts.

  • How to Show Love to Someone with This Love Language: Give them thoughtful gifts regularly, surprise them with their favorite things, or make something for them – handmade gifts that don't cost a thing are just as special.

4. Quality Time

  • What It Means: This love language is all about undivided attention. People with this love language feel most loved when someone spends quality time with them, engaging in meaningful conversations or shared activities.

  • How to Show Love to Someone with This Love Language: Dedicate time to be with them without distractions, plan special dates or activities, and show interest in their thoughts and feelings.

5. Physical Touch

  • What It Means: For people with this love language, physical touch is a powerful communicator of love. They appreciate hugs, holding hands, and other forms of physical connection.

  • How to Show Love to Someone with This Love Language: A big hug after a long day or a simple hand-squeeze during a movie conveys a sense of connection and comfort that words often can’t. 

Do You Know Your Love Language?

Discovering your love language is just as important in relationships as knowing someone else’s. Take the Love Language Quiz to learn more about how you give and receive love. This is also a super fun date idea to do with a partner!



bottom of page